LogMeIn Free can be replaced by TeamViewer

TeamViewer LogoLast week I occasionally logged into my LogMeIn Free account to give remote support for my friend. But there was an unexpected surprise – LogMeIn Free is ending. So I had to look for another service with the same functionality. I googled for some comparative articles, but it didn’t help me enough. The offer of free support services is quite limited. I don’t want pay for support service, if I use it quite rarely.

So I decided to try TeamViewer, which I knew it is very easy to get at every computer, where has been started it’s client. I knew only way with ID and PIN. But now I found out, that there is possibility to install client and setup unattended access to it with adding it’s ID to my computer list. On the top of that you don’t have to install TeamViewer on your management computer to give a support. You can use TeamViewer web management console and Adobe Flash viewer to do a support everywhere you go!

There is additional thing that is in opposite of LogMeIn, that TeamViewer supports Linux! It sounds very good. So I tried to install it on my openSUSE box with KDE. It works well! Although client looks quite ugly. Because it runs in WINE. But the important is that it runs including unattended access!

So I’m contended I found very good replacement for LogMeIn Free and that it even runs on Linux.

Leave a Reply

